NIGERIA@60: The Various Nigeria Administrations Before And After 1960 Independence

1st October 1960 to date, Nigeria had experienced nine military coups with two failed
The Various Nigeria Administrations Before And After 1960 Independence

By Lakpene Yusuf Bida,Esq.

Historically the Southern and Northern Protectorates became amalgamated or fused together to get Nigeria in 1914. Its first Head was Governor-General, Sir Frederick Lord Lugard who lasted till 1919. He was succeeded by others and lastly before Independence by Sir James Robertson who was the Governor-General between 1958 - 1960 when the Union Jack flag was lowered and Green White Green flag of Nigeria was hoisted. Thus giving Nigeria self-sovereignty.

This development brought in late Alh. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa as the Prime Minister in 1960 but killed through the first military coup of 1966. Dr N. Azikiwe became Governor-General on the 1st October 1960 to 1963.

The military coup of 15th January 1966 produced late Major- General Aguyi Ironsi as the first military Head of State. But quickly countered and produced former Head of State, General Yakubu Gowon as the second military Head of State. He served between 29th July 1966 - 29th July 1975.

Late General Murtala Ramat Mohammed through coup became the third military Head of State between 29th July 1975 - 13th February 1976 when he was brutally killed by coupists. Former General Olusegun  Obasanjo succeeded him as the fourth Military Head of State and served between 13th February 1976 - 1st October 1979 and handed over peacefully after general elections.

The course of administration of Nigeria suddenly changed due to the changing situations. Between 1st October 1979 - 31st December 1983 late Alh. Shehu Shagari became the first Executive President of Nigeria, even though later removed through a coup. By this military coup, General Muhammadu Buhari became the fifth Military Head of State on the 15th December 1983 - 27th August 1985. He too was removed through a coup and General IBB became the sixth and the first Military President on the 27th August 1985 - 26th August 1993.

Condition led to Chief Earnest Shonekan to become the first Head of Interim government between 26th August 1993 - 17th November 1993. However, late General Sani Abacha through mild coup pushed him away and became the seventh Military Head of State on the 17th November 1993 - 8th June 1998 .He died in the office.  

General Abdulsalam Abubakar by fate became the eighth Military Head of State from 8th June 1998 - 29th July 1999. He installed the second Civilian President, former President Olusegun Obasanjo through general elections and he served between 29th May 1999- 29th May 2007.

Late former President Musa Umar Yar'adua by-elections became the third Civilian President between 29th May 2007 - 5th May 2010 having died in the office. Former President Dr Goodluck Ebele naturally succeeded him and served from the 6th May 2010 - 29th May 2015 through a general election.

On the 29th May 2015, President Muhammadu Buhari emerged as the fifth Civilian President and still on the seat till now.

In summary between 1st October 1960 to date, Nigeria had experienced nine military coups with two failed. These two were headed by late Bukar Dimka in 1976. While that of 1990 failed coup was headed by late Gideon Okah.

As Nigeria successfully attained solid fifty-nine years now. Let Nigeria enter the age of sixty years with great prosperity, peace and progress for her citizens, Ameen thuma ameen.

May we be guided.

© LIVE updates, Latest headlines, Breaking news, Top Stories, Trending topics, Nigerian Newspapers - The Gazette Nigeria 2020

Published by NINCHI Services Limited

Proudly powered by Extrigs! Pye.