BRYMO talks about his recent album Yellow [DOWNLOAD ALBUM]

Yellow is an album about "love and survival,"

The man born Olawale Ashimi, popularly known as Brymo, would have earned a reputation as one of Nigeria's greatest artists of all time by the time his career is over. And yes, you thought it was right; commercial success is not going to make up or ruin his reputation.

Described by Brymo as an album about "love and survival," Yellow to his latest release will be an alternative pop and electronic project, he said. Brymo seems to win the hearts of many with that latest attempt.

This is his seventh solo studio album released on 1 April 2020. This serves as a follow-up to his previous EP entitled "AAA." The 15-track album consists of three (3) sides A – 6, B – 5, and C – 4, respectively. Yellow has one collaboration with talented Nigerian neo-soul singer Lindsey Abudei.

Yellow was initially planned to contain 17 songs but two tracks were excluded from the project due to technical problems. On 24 March Brymo cited technical reasons for omitting tracks from the album "Iya Awele" and "Ife".

The singer in his words said "The initial plan was to release in August. (then I had other plans) But in September 2019, we decided to release it earlier. I’m glad I changed my mind because releasing the album is more important to me than the resulting material gain".

"I would have been devastated if I couldn’t complete recording because of the pandemic, and if I had stayed with August as release date, I would have been in production now, making it impossible to release”.

The album received support from the single "Strippers + White Line." Cover art from the album features a display of Perspective and Frustrations 2020, a painting by Nigerian artist Samuel Ancestor. Brymo announced on Instagram that after many conversations with his friends, he has been attracted to the painting. With the exception of "Abu Ya," co-produced by Nsikak David and Lindsey Abudei, all remaining tracks on Yellow were entirely produced and engineered by frequent collaborator Mikky Me Joses of Brymo.

The album discusses subject matter such as love, heartbreak, socio-politics and mental health. There are some songs in the album like 'Esprit De Corps,' 'Blackmail,' 'Ozymandias,' 'Heartbreak Songs Are Better in English.' Some include 'Without You,' 'Girl,' 'Black Man,' 'Gambu,' 'Rara Rira,' 'Mind Profit,' 'Adédotun,' 'Orun n Móoru' and 'A F'èédú Fan'ná.'

While the album has received positive reviews based on the outstanding talent of the singer, a music critic, in particular, noted that this is an album that deserves an accompanying film. Though Brymo has always created music worthy of the cinema, Yellow is his album with the highest number of film songs. Brymo – as always – considers appropriate development in its essence to tell stories or share poetry about passion, ambition, vices and society.

Although the album is largely based on resonant subjects taken from the wider culture, Brymo uses symbolism and metaphor to break his subjects down. Born on 9 May 1986, Brymo managed to pull the strings with series of ventures in the Nigerian music industry.

He began recording music while at high school in 1999. He signed a record deal with Chocolate City in 2010 but was charged in 2013 with violating his contract with the label. Brymo released Brymstone, his debut studio album, in 2007. In 2012 he released his second studio album, The Son of a Kapenta.

On 20 October 2013 his third studio album, Traders, Dealers & Slaves, was released; received favourable reviews from music critics and accompanied by two singles; in October 2014, "Down" and "Eko" Brymo released his fourth studio album, Tabula Rasa; their lead single, "Fe Mi," was described as an "easy traditional ballad." Brymo released an eight-track compilation album, Trance, on Decem 8. He had signed an international distribution deal with Tate Music Group in 2015.

On 9 May 2016, Brymo released his fifth Klitôris studio album. It contains 11 songs, and the lead single "Good Memories" was followed. His critically acclaimed sixth studio album, Osó, was released in March 2018. Six months later he published Oriri's Plight, a self-referential fictional book. Brymo teamed up with three Skata Vibration members to form A.A.A, an experimental rock band whose eponymous debut EP came out in August 2019. In December last year, however, he made headlines for adjudicating himself as "Nigeria's decade poet" citing the influence of 'Oleku,' his hit single, on the music landscape of the country.

DOWNLOAD: ‘Yellow’ by Brymo

© LIVE updates, Latest headlines, Breaking news, Top Stories, Trending topics, Nigerian Newspapers - The Gazette Nigeria 2020

Published by NINCHI Services Limited

Proudly powered by Extrigs! Pye.