Fintiri, Dikwa, Amb Buratai, COAS bag Northeast Star awards

Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri (Photo Credits: @iDomiya)

Adamawa State Governor, Ahmadu Fintiri, is expected to be decorated as the Northeast Star Magazine best Governor of the Year, with Dr. Mohammed Kyari Dikwa clinging 2021 man of the year award.

According to a press statement made available to Newsmen by the Chairman Media and Publicity Committee Hajiya Zainab Abubakar on Monday in Gombe, the 2021 award is expected to hold at the Conference Hall of the American University of Nigeria, Yola, Adamawa State on the 21st October.

Recall that since 2016, the Magazine award has become a regular with some of the awardees including; Lt. General Tukur Buratai (Man of the Year, 2016), Rt. Hon Yakubu Dogara (Man of the Year, 2017) Lt. General T. Y Danjuma (Man of the Year, 2018).

Others are; Dr. K Dikwa (Nelson Mandela Award for Public Service), and Governor Babagana Umara Zulum (Best Commissioner of the Year, 2018).

This year’s theme “Celebrating Excellence, Promoting Peace and Harmony”,  is supported by North East Economic Forum and would be chaired by Dr. TDrr Arabi, while Gov. Ahmadu Fintiri is also expected as the Special Guest of Honour.

The statement partly read, “Management and Editorial Board of Northeast Star Magazine has fixed October 21, 2021, for the presentation of its Awards of Excellence to some deserving personalities.

“Recognitions have been given to the following: Adamawa State Governor, Ahmadu Fintiri as Governor of the Year; Dr MohammeDryari Dikwa – Man of the Year; Lt. General Faruk Yahaya, the Chief of Army Staff, to receive the prestigious Collin Powell’s Meritorious Award for Soldiering;   Ambassador Tukur Yusufu Buratai – Lifetime Achievement Award in Military Leadership; Engr. Ahmad M.Y. Jumba – Community Peacebuilder of the Year; His Royal Highness, the Emir of Funakaye III Alhaji Mu’azu Muhammad Kwairanga – General Excellence Award in Traditional Leadership.

“The awards also have Prince Abba Kawu Shehu  Abubakar  Garbai – Kyari Dikwa Excellence Award in Public Financial Management; Honourable Babangida Saidu Nguroje – General Excellence Award in Leadership; Senator Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf – Legislator of the Year; Hauwa Esthon – Entrepreneur of the Year; Engr. Alhaji Mustapha Gubio – Nelson Mandela Award in Leadership; Professor Ahmed Ahidjo – Hospital Administrator of the Year; Rev. Yakubu Pam, Executive Secretary, Nigeria Christian Pilgrim Commission (NCPC) – Desmond Tutu Humanitarian, Religious Tolerance and Christian Stewardship Award; Dr Goje Mohammed – General Excellence Award in Youth Leadership and Peacebuilding; Dr Mustapha Ibrahim Al-Amin – General Excellence Award in Traditional Medicine; Laylah Ali Othman – Youth Inspiration of the Year; and Mustapha Shettima – Humanitarian of the Year.”

The statement also noted that the reputable Dr Hassan Gimba is the guest speaker at the occasion with other eminent personalities.

“HRH Alhaji Barikindo Mustafa Aliyu, Mustapha Adamawa is the Royal Father of the Day, while HRH Alhaji Muhammadu Inuwa Baba Paris, Hakimin Jimeta will appear as the Distinguished Guest. Dr Hassan GimbaDr the Guest Speaker,” the statement added.

Join Us On Telegram

Advertise with us