Premier League: PFA Player of the Year Race Still Open to The Last Match of the Season

The PFA (Professional Footballers' Association) Player of the Year is an annual award bestowed on the player deemed to have had the best year in English football.
Bruno Fernandez/ Kevin De Bruyne and Harry Kane

As the English Premier League comes to and end the race to win the PFA Player of the year 2021 award is still open with a lot of players having fantastic seasons.

This season, there have been some scintillating performances from a host of players from various teams. With the 2020-21 Premier League season nearing its conclusion, many players have staked their claim for the prestigious PFA award.

The players to watch our are Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City), Grealish (Aston Villa), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Mohammed Salah (Liverpool), Ngolo Kante (Chelsea) and Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City), they all had wonder season and can go home with the noble prize, but below are the front runners of to win the Award.

Tottenham Striker Harry Kane

Harry Kane

Harry Kane: The Englishman has been involved in 45 goals (29 goals, 16 assists) in 41 games for Spurs across all competitions this season.

The Englishman has an impressive average of 4.4 shots per game, with 1.6 shots on target. The 27-year old leads the Premier League goal-scoring and assists chart.

Manchester City Midfielder Ilkay Gundugan

Ilkay Gundugan

Manchester City are looking comfortable at the top of the Premier League table and are among the favourites to win the Champions League as well. A considerable chunk of City's success this season has been due to Gündogan presence in midfield, and in essence, all across the football pitch.

Gundogan has been involved in 20 goals (16 goals, four assists) this season, leading his Manchester City teammates in the Premier League goal-scoring charts, with 12 goals in 23 games.

Manchester United's Midfielder Bruno Fernandez

Bruno Fernandes

 Fernandes has turned around Manchester United's fortunes since his arrival. He was the catalyst for the team's resurgence in the second half of last season, propelling the Red Devils to a Champions League spot.

He has performed at an even higher level this season, registering 24 goals and 14 assists to his name, tallying the most goals and assists by a Manchester United player this season.

Manchester City Defender Ruben Dias

Ruben Dias

Ruben Diaz Ruben Dias, a rock in the Manchester City defence, is another strong contender for this season's PFA Player of the Year award. The Portuguese has been in tremendous form for City since his £61.2 million transfer from Benfica.

Dias has made 21 tackles in the league, coming out on top with an average of 6.2 tackles won per match. The Portuguese is a towering presence in the air as well, winning 3.5 aerial duels out of 5.7 attempted per 90.

Thomas Soucek (Midfielder) Westham United

Thomas Soucek

Tomas Soucek is having his best season in front of goal and has emerged as an outsider for the PFA Player of the Year award.

The Czech Republic midfielder has had an impressive 77% passing accuracy and has completed 11.6 passes per 90 minutes in the final third.

Drop Your Favorite Player to win the PFA Award